Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

The majority of social concerns are about the effectiveness of recycling that is made by homes and they cite that an obligation is needed to motivate people for recycling. It appears to me that laws inevitably motivate people to recycle their rubbish. Firstly, regulations that are made by authorities may obligate the population to pay a penalty fee when they reject recycling, leading to motivation for the collection of recyclable materials. In California- a state in America-, for instance, every resident puts their trash outside that is suitable to recycle and they are collected by the government to transport recycle centres. This regularity is offered by strict rules about the protection of the environment, according to a questionnaire on the official website of the government. A second point is that humanity needs discipline to protect the environment, thus recycling its trash. By this we mean that laws perhaps provide strict rules to push the community, resulting in an increment of recycling success. For example, in Germany, people were allowed to smoke in public areas until it was forbidden by the government. Afterward, any residents have not intended to smoke cigarettes in common-used places such as buses and theatres, which demonstrates the inevitable effect of regulations on people. Admittedly, there are other ways to promote recycling like campaigns that are run by volunteers. Nevertheless, it is observed that legislation is far more effective and immediate than any other remedies. In conclusion, although the promotion of recycling may have an impact on people, strict laws about economic punishments would offer discipline for the population and increase the number of recycled materials that are provided by homes.