In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping center or mall to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

The number of shopping malls is increasing as the population grows in the city. Some argue that shopping malls take retail boutiques’ customers and because of this, many small stores are forced to be closed. I believe that this has a negative impact on culture, traditions, and the local recession. First, many retail shops are selling handmade, and traditional products, for example, indigenous neckless. Closing their store means that the community losses the identification of their own culture. Furthermore, items being sold in such stores tend to be very unique, and creative, and sometimes they are made for specific purposes. For instance, skincare items for extremely dry skin. If they are gone, many people will get lost since their preferred specified items are not purchasable at the regular markets. Second, there is a possibility that the regional business, not only small shops, might be bankrupt. Those small shops are run by people living originally while the big malls are often occupied by franchisees. Even though the number of people going to such shopping mall and spending a huge portion of their money there, its profit will be sent to the store’s headquarter directly. On the other hand, prosperity in the local market brought cash to the community, which will make the local economy capable to run on its own. In conclusion, I believe that shifting the population to use the mall for their shopping from the retail stores in the neighbourhood impacts negatively. This is because it makes the city less traditional and cultured. In addition, it might cause bankruptcy in the local economy.