In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently more people have tended to buy their needs such as groceries, garments, appliances, and so on, from grand shopping malls. The consequence of their desire for this kind of shopping has been presented with the closure of more local small stores day by day. In this letter I argue the negative aspects of this development, before turning to the positive ones and I believe the positive aspects are more significant than the negatives. In some individual's minds, the closure of local shops appears with gross changes in society. In other words, their claim is the positions of owners turned to employees. However, these changes may assume a positive first impression, we should not forget the fact that the existence of small shops creates competition among service providers, which is usually tailored to the needs of consumers. For example, in the past local shops, due to their owner’s authority, placed some discounts to draw more attention to their business. Needless to say, the change in folk's position from employer to employee took their power to control the prices and this change ended in higher costs for customers. On the flip side, by developing more shopping malls, the opportunities for more entertainment besides shopping are provided. Moreover, most of the shopping malls have been equipped with different facilities, playgrounds for kids, cinemas, and so on, to impact on consumer’s welfare besides shopping. Furthermore, shopping in huge malls would be helpful to waste less time on shopping. They usually contain different variety of stores from groceries to different brands of attire, which help every individual to buy all the stuff without commuting between several locations. In addition, these malls are springing up with lots of new careers for society. In conclusion, although the development of big shopping centres affected lots of small local shops and anchored them to closure, I assume this development is a positive development from the consumer's view.