In many places, new homes are needed, but the only spaces available for building in in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new home there. What is your opinion about this?

There have been heated debates over whether we should extend the urban area further into the countryside to provide more housing. Some people believe with limited spaces available, new construction in the city surroundings is necessary, while in my opinion, I stand with those who believe it is crucial to preserve the rural area for the following reasons. The countryside is an essential region for city community to relax over the weekend. Extending urban areas will result in a long drive for families who want to access nature. For example, when I was little, driving to the countryside only takes less than half an hour in Shanghai. However, with the continuous construction of houses, it takes over 1.5 hours to go to the suburban region. Instead of refreshing in the field over the weekend, many people stay in the city which results in high pressure and a high depression rate in society. Pollution is another concern for expanding the city area to the countryside. With more constructions, trees would be cut and animals and insects that depend on plants and provide balance to nature will not survive. There's a recent survey shows the relationship between pollution and the size of the city is directly proportional which means the larger the size of the city, the higher the pollution. In conclusion, the countryside should be left as is and government should prevent new constructions in the urban areas for easy access to nature and better air quality. Although I understand those who want better quality and more spacious housing, I believe we should try to build a new house within the city and not extend the boundaries further.