In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In several countries, some people will promote home ownership rather than renting it. This could mainly happen because of the existence of a cultural mindset that had stuck from centuries ago. However, it may lead to some negative aspects for those who don't have enough money to buy the house but still insists on owning it. In this essay, I will put out some reasons and dissent from the notion which further leads to a logical conclusion. To begin with, the idea of renting a place to live is contradicted by some cultures in several countries. As renting a house means there is still uncertainty about living. For example, in Indonesia, owning a house is a symbol that someone is ready to start a new chapter of their life, therefore, most couples already had a house as soon as they got married to live their life together as husband and wife. It is difficult to change this mentality as it has been inherited eventually from the older. Moving further, if people don't have enough money but still insist to own a mansion in order to comply with their attitude and prestige in society, this could lead to several issues in the future such as, being in debt with many banks, building foreclosure in terms for not being able to complete the payments, or even self-pressure that could lead to depression. For instance, in Japan there were lots of houses that were pulled back by banks because the occupants were not able to pay the debt, hence a lot of them got depressed and committed suicide. In a nutshell, the ethos of having the whole house rather than renting one could affect some negative damages in the future. This cultural frame of mind should have been replaced as time passes by.