Health expert believe that walking is good exercise for health.howerver people are walking less nowadays.why is this happening and what are the solutions?

"Health is wealth", as the common saying goes. Health practitioners are of the opinion that walking is a good practice which subsequently, helps to keep one healthy and fit. However, for several reasons, people are strolling less, these days. In my essay, I shall explain the reasons for walking less arising from the availability of better transport alternatives, time constraints and automation of work with suitable examples and find solutions to these issues. First and foremost,discussing the reasons for such a change it can be cited that,changes in work patterns are the primary cause. Today, processes have become more vehicle dependent mostly which does not necessitate the need for walking to a large extent. To cite an instance, previously a postman had to walk to deliver letters and envelopes which has been largely replaced by him working with two-wheelers. Moreover, a hectic lifestyle and work pressure where every minute counts prevent people from getting idle time for a stroll. For instance, surveys show that in today's commercial,world an executive works for almost two third of the day for making a living and managing his family. Furthermore, there is a decline in places to walk and roads have become crowded and footpaths have encroached upon. For example, in,Dhaka the footpaths have been taken over by hawkers leaving people to walk on vehicle-infested roads which is not safe. Thus, we see improvement in transport, time availability and lack of walking space, are the causes. Firstly, the solution lies in better time management and providing specific times for walking exercises. To exemplify, surveys show morning walkers are fitter folk. Secondly, where the walking place is a challenge it is convenient to use a treadmill at the home to simulate a walking environment. For,instance most automated treadmills are used in highrise buildings where there is a few spot to walk. Thus, priority for a healthy lifestyle and using alternate devices can be useful in bringing the habit back. Thirdly, the government can take a lead in making the pathways accessible by removing unauthorised vendors and can develop more parks. To illustrate, the footpath recovery drive in Chittagong has helped in creating more areas for pedestrians. To summarise, we can say, though it is a healthy habit, the common man, these days are walking lesser than before owing to factors of conveyance, work-load and lack of proper space. However, with lifestyle modification and the implementation of modern,gadgets we can reverse, this ongoing trend and concurrently the authorities can too, lend a helping hand to improve the situation.