In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, there has been a growing development in online payment methods for easy and fast transactions. Therefore many countries are adopting cellphone app payment methods that are common these days. This essay will highlight the advantages and disadvantages in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, the primary reason for promoting this method is to stop money laundering and corruption. To elaborate, if all the transactions are done through an online platform it will help the government to track the money and it will stop illegal activities. For example, many terror groups use cash methods to do transactions for their illegal activities that will be stopped. Hence, it will be a good development for the citizens of the country. Secondly, online payments help people to do transactions easily from all around the world which is safe and secure therefore many nations have developed their own secured channels for transferring money. For instance, India has created the UPI method for doing day-to-day expenses via, Google Pay or the Paytm application. On the other hand, due to this application payment method scams are getting at their peak. Moreover, small merchants are getting trouble due to this type of scam, some time the customer makes payment through these apps they make the payment through the clone apps it is exactly the same as the original one but the transactions are fake. Merchants get notified that the payment is done but they don't get the money. For example, In 2021, India caught the racket that was doing this type of scam in the country and the estimate was around ten million dollars in illegal money.  In summary, it can be concluded that there are several advantages for states for the development and growth of the nation, forcing the terror group to stop promoting online payments although it has some disadvantages it can be neglected on top of the positive side.