Music is played in every society and culture in teh world. Some people think that music brings only benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, music has become an important part of daily life for many people in different cultures. Whether or not it is true that music does not have any negative impact on societies and individuals is a debatable issue. Some people believe that the creation of music has always been for positive purposes. Initially, when people were still illiterate, music was created to record history which was passed on from generation to generation. Since then, music has continued to be used in many different ways. In the modern era, music enhances the learning process and helps students memorize their lessons. In the entertainment world, music is actually a source of income. Some musicians also use music to deliver messages about social and environmental issues such as Michael Jackson’s Heal the World song. Even depressing songs that contain swear and negative words are considered a way of expressing feelings in a safe way, compared to fighting with other people or committing suicide. There has been no evidence of anybody making music for negative purposes. Owing to these reasons, I am also convinced that music has no negative side. However, others argue that the innovations of technological devices to make music sound better and the wide use of music have led to the emergence of some problems related to music. For instance, many people like to listen to music loudly by using loud speakers. This is seen as a form of noise pollution, which disturbs other people. The use of headphones can also damage the inner ears in the long run. In addition, people have reported the lyrics of some types of music that are quite provocative to have encouraged negative behaviors among young people. However, education from parents and school can help to eliminate these negative sides of music. In summary, while I believe that music can have a negative influence on people as individuals and societies, I still think that music is never created to have this effect on both. Moreover, there are ways that can be used to minimize the negative impact of music.