Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express their thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain individuals believe that artists need freedom of expression to develop and showcase their skills. I overwhelmingly agree with this opinion and in this essay a plethora of reasons and examples will be explored to prove my opinion. To begin with, nowadays, people get more opportunities to express themselves than the bygone eras. This open-minded society has helped many creators to demonstrate their abilities on the social media platforms. The ideas flow freely in the communities when people are not bound with rules or illogical assumptions. To exemplify, when many scientists proposed helio-centric discoveries then many criticised and even punished them. Some of them were isolated from the society and others were murdered in the outburst of angers by the irrational followers of geo-centric concept. Ergo, the lack of tolerance causes decrease the indepedence of the creative people in the world which in turn reduces the free flow of thoughts. On the contrary, few ideas need to be censored and should never be favoured as they cause negative impact on the society. For example, some writers write in the favour of racism which creates distinction in the community. In the past, in India, numerous authors wrote against some castes that promoted untouchability and some sections of the communities faced treatment as inferior citizens. Such kinds of works should be censored. So, in some cases, over-openness leads to discriminatory attitudes. In conclusion, it is really important to provide certain degree of freedom in the world. Due to this society in return is rewarded with creative works of the craftsman. However, some individuals also take advantage of this and use it for their agendas which should be undone. From my perspective, freedom of expression should be accompanied with the checks and balances.