Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is usually held by experts that to accurately examine pupils the most popular way is to do it formally since continually assessing students is no longer satisfactory. I am in strong agreement with the given statement as official exams are more helpful because they show the real student’s understanding of the subject. To begin with, the most noticeable reason is that 3-month English courses, for instance, where it is promised to raise a person's English to one level higher. However, most individuals do not improve their skills at all, because it takes more time to learn new words and grammatical structures. Moreover, when there are several people in the class, the teacher pays less attention to each student so the quality of the studies decreases. Besides this, at the end of such courses all students need to pass the test which is always easier than should be. Most individuals consider that organisations do it on purpose to create an effect of successful course completion. Secondly, it is most likely that official exams cover all points of the subject and the teacher can check how well pupils studied, while continual assessments have tests every week or 2 weeks, hence, in the end one may not remember information from the beginning. To conclude, the formal examination is preferred in modern schools and universities not only because of its quality, but also for the data it contains.