It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks be greater than benefits to the community and the young adult themselves?

Community’s social growth depends on its future youth and their unbound services towards them. It has been argued that all younsters must spend a year dedicating their time in voluntary service to help individuals in need. As per my opinion the benefits of this generous service will surpass the drawbacks. To start with, the idea of voluntary work will have an immence emotional development in today’s youth. Study curriculum is not always about the courses you take, but also about what you learn from it and how you apply it in your personal life. Unpaid work will give an opportunity to young adults to know about all types of communities and their day to day hardships for survival. For instance, the time spend in a public health centre will make them realize the detrimental heath conditions of people and their resilience towards it. Selfless service towards humanity decreases the generation gap making world a better place. Voluntary service towards the elderly people will create bonds, which in turn will benefit the young adults to learn from their past experiences. For example, they can decide about their careers after they interact with experienced people from various fields. To summarize, community will always benefit from the voluntary services offered as it bring led to peace and prosperity. Additionally, youngsters will also learn the way of living and can inculcate this practical knowledge into their study regime. Although if youth takes disadvantage of this free time from their college curriculum, it will led to a major drawback toward their overall development.