It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks be greater than benefits to the community and the young adults themselves?

Some people believe that each young adult ought to be a volunteer in the community for a period. As far as I am concerned, I firmly state that the drawbacks extremely surpass the benefits for two main reasons. To begin with, there is no doubt that the youth should accumulate their work experience and earn several buckets of money in their golden years. While some people believe that being a volunteer experience, I argue that young adults should focus on making money. For instance, if youngsters do not save some money at a young age, they might become those who need help in the future. Consequently, it is essential for the youth to earn money instead of helping the community without salaries so as to keep valuable memories. The second reason is that this regulation will let young people not want to help the community after making fortune. Others consider that if young adults work as volunteers in the community, they will change their attitude and intend to donate to the community. However, I believe that the youth will not sponsor the community because they have already helped the community before and are less willing to do it again. For example, it is obvious that those who are used to helping others are born into a family which also likes to help others, so this behaviour cannot be altered after they grow up. In conclusion, if people force the youth to become volunteers, youngsters are not likely to help the community again which is worse than its benefits. To summarize,personally, I consider that the drawbacks of asking young adults to be volunteers in the community surpass its benefits due to two reasons. One is the youth should earn money if they can, or they might be one of those who need helps in the future. The other reason is that this requirement will let young adults be not likely to help the community again due to the fact that they have already helped the community before.