Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss about it.

As the introduction of the topic, It's a common belief for people that jail is the best way to punish someone when they do a crime. They believe that it will hold them to do crime in the near future. However, I strongly do not agree with the statement and I’ll explain the reasons in this essay. Firstly, the existence of prisoners will add more burden on the government. When someone is caught by law enforcement, their freedom to look after their needs is taken away. In this case, the government has a responsibility to provide basic requirements such as food, drink, and shelter. These things only bring a cost to the country even without any added value to society. This thing gives an image of how unpractical it is to lock up criminals in jail since there only be burdens that are coming after. Although some people may argue that putting someone in jail will make sure they will not conduct any crimes in the future, the real condition is different. There are a tremendous number of facts where criminals still can run their organization from behind the bars with the help of their trusted ones. For example, a Drug cartel in Mexico namely el matador can still run its operation even though their leader is being arrested. This precedent could be a piece of evidence that even though there are benefits that prison offers but the disbenefits of it are so critical and could overcome its benefits. to wrap things up, there are several arguments that must be realized when it comes to the matter of choosing prison as the best punishment which is the reality that more burden will come to the government for keeping them. Although there is a belief that jail will keep them from doing another crime in the near future, the evidence is showing the opposite. Thus, I believe that prison is not the best punishment for criminals since the disbenefits of it are out shadowing its benefit.