Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays computers take part in countless aspects of our everyday lives, and the fact that they are so indispensable makes some people consider them the most vital invention of the last few centuries. I completely agree with this idea, for a variety of reasons. First of all, computers are capable of dealing with a huge amount of data in the blink of an eye. They can work as powerful calculators, which enable the analysis of large groups of samples and statistics in all research fields. Numerous breakthroughs in human history would have never taken place if computers did not take over basic operations in the first place. Furthermore, computers play a crucial role in information storage in modern society. Instead of keeping paper records, computers help save a lot of space for a wide range of facilities. For instance, the search process is now easier and more efficient if we want to track the history of patients in hospitals or look up certain books in libraries. Access to computers also unfolds the possibility of remote working and online learning. This means that people are now able to work or develop new skills whenever and wherever they desire, as long as they have one laptop with them. This kind of flexibility has shown an immense impact on remodelling the working patterns of human beings during the past decades. Take my uncle as an example, he managed to work as a web developer and travel around the world in the meantime. Since his projects and meetings can merely be done with his laptop, it is not necessary for him to stay in one place or enter the office on a daily basis. In conclusion, computers have improved our lives drastically in many different ways, and I believe these revolutionary changes prove the absolute importance of their invention.