Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, smartphones has become widely popular. It has come to the point that many children are becoming addicted to the usage of smart devices. One reason for that can be that virtual content is more entertaining than real life. In this thesis, I will argue that such addiction is not a positive thing for a child's development. Smartphones offer almost an unlimited amount of entertainment. It can be argued that children are most interested in games. These are able to gain a child's attention as a mobile game usually offers much more entertainment than real-life game. For example, a child can become the best football player in the world, a brave knight, who saves a princess or simply a successful farmer. Mobile games allow young people to achieve goals, they are unable to currently attain. This effect then lead to children spending long hours glued to their mobile phone. Over usage of smart devices can be harmful for children's physical as well as mental state. Without a doubt, the lack of movement from hours of sitting or lying down with a phone is apparent. It is important to develop a positive attitude towards a sport in an early stage of a person’s life. Sitting or lying down with a smartphone in your hands will not lead to that. Moreover, the lack of real-life interaction with people can result in building relationships in the future. To conclude, the over usage of mobile phones is a pressing issue that is caused by the appealing nature of the virtual environment. It should be tackled soon as children can bear consequences in the future.