Some countries have legal ages at which people can drink. Other countries believe not have strict laws is a better policy. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is considered illegal in some countries to purchase alcoholic beverages in some countries, while in other countries people believe that teenagers should have the right to make their own decisions about alcohol consumption. While not inhibiting adolescents from drinking might lead to safer drinking situations, I believe that setting an age limit for consuming alcohol is far more beneficial. In some countries there are laws against minors drinking because it has proven effective in lowering health-related risks among teenagers and I agree. Firstly, teenagers will not die as a result of alcohol poisoning. This is because they will not need to purchase illegally-made and dangerous alcoholic drinks. Secondly, traffic accidents and fatalities will be reduced since irrational teenagers will not make any fatal decisions. Finally, bars and nightclubs are not safe environments for teenagers and by not being allowed to drink they will not be present in those places. On the other hand, there are some people who believe adolescents should not be kept away from alcohol and should be allowed to consume and possess alcohol. They believe doing so will diminish the thrill of breaking the law to get a drink which consequently decreases crime rates as young adults tend to forge ID cards in order to get into a bar. It is also thought that drinking alcohol in regulated environments with supervision could decrease unsafe drinking activities and the number of underage people who are hurt from alcohol -related injuries will be reduced. The findings from a recent survey done in Germany demonstrate that injury rates are much lower since teenagers are allowed to drink alcohol under the legal age. To conclude, while people may vary in opinions, I think that a minimum legal drinking age saves lives and protects health.