Many people think it is very important to protect the environment but they make no effort to do it themselves. Why do you think this is the case? What actions should individuals take to protect the environment?

In recent years, environmental issues are rising at an alarming rate. Majority of the people are blaming towards the government for not taking actions against environmental problems like pollution. This essay will discuss the possible factors that is causing this and outline different ways individuals can take to protect the environment. To begin, one of the reasons why people are putting minimal efforts in protecting the nature is the convenience of transportation. The need of owning private cars and bikes is considered to be a way of leading a luxurious life. However, fumes released from cars causes climate change as they contain harmful gases. Moreover, most people claim that air and land pollution requires the attention of the entire society and could not be solved by individuals. For example, while the government are blamed for not recycling plastic, most people do not even bother disposing wastes properly. Hence, there is an immense threat that can be caused to the surrounding due to these factors. In addition, there are many ways for individuals to protect the nature. Firstly, the use of public transport should be encouraged so that number of private vehicles are reduced. This would decrease the emission of gases which largely contributes to air pollution. Secondly, people could try to avoid the use of plastic bags or any other non-biodegradable materials. Instead, they can utilize eco-friendly bags and recycling products that would significantly help in the reduction of pollution. Furthermore, individuals can plant trees around their neighborhood which would allow them to breath fresh air and thus improving the atmosphere. In conclusion, environmental problems can only be tackled if every single person in a society participates. Besides, these simple yet effective actions such as planting trees and using public transportation can help save lives as well as nature.