Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is not hard to find that sidewalks and subways are covered with trash at the end of the day. More and more garbages are produced by humans. It does not only destroy the view of our city but also introduces rats that carry diseases. This article is made to discuss the reason why there is an increasing amount of rubbish produced and what can our governments do to mitigate this problem. If you take a closer look at the trash on roads, you will find it mostly comes from packages for the products people bought such as containers and plastic bags can be easily found in the hallway near restaurants. There are three major reasons for it. Firstly, shops and department stores tend to overpackage their products in order to attract their customers. Secondly, customers tend to use one-time packages or cutlery for convenience. For instance, the general public prefers using plastic forks rather than bringing a set of metal forks that weigh 200 grams. Finally and most obviously, is that citizens lack environmental awareness. Environmental protection is much easier said than done. People are usually reluctant to take action to change their behaviours. I think the best way, governments instead can take some steps to remediate the problems. First of all, legislate laws to encourage the producers or manufacturers that use eco-friendly materials during production. For example, compensating their energy costs or cutting down the product tax. Next, governments can hold ecology-related courses in our elementary schools so that our offspring can learn how to preserve our ecosystem. In conclusion, I personally think that the shortage of natural conservation awareness in society causes trash problems and the government can resolve this problem by setting proper laws to incentive factories to take the environment into consideration while production or by educating the public about the proper behaviours for the preservation of the ecosystem. By doing so, we can become better global citizens in the near future.