Many people are travelling to other countries. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days there are more and more people travelling and visiting other nations. This can be due to several factors, and I personally believe that it is a positive development. To begin with, there are two contributing factors behind people ’s motivation to travel. First, many people want to learn more about unfamiliar cultures and travelling allows them to be exposed to(1) local people and observe cultural differences in other countries. This gives them a chance to make a comparison of cultural traits in different nations, which helps them enrich their knowledge and have a more profound understanding of the world. Second, some people decide to travel abroad so that they can visit their relatives or family members who live overseas. Video calls and photos only help to see each other’s faces, and they, therefore desire to travel abroad so as to meet their loved ones in the flesh.(2) I believe the prevalence of(3) international travel brings about great positive effects on society. With many travellers coming to a country, the demand for housing and food there will likely grow, earning the local people a great deal of money through providing food and accommodation for travellers. For instance, Thailand is a country that welcomes millions of travellers from around the world annually, thanks to which the tourism industry there flourishes.(4) Thousands of jobs have also been created, such as workers in travel agencies, taxi drivers or tour guides, to serve a great number of international tourists. Therefore, many residents working in this industry have escaped poverty,avoided unemployment and now enjoy a better quality of life. In conclusion, people these days travel abroad in order to acquire new knowledge and see friends and family members. In my opinion, this development is positive due to its various social benefits