In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Around the world, many children are motivated in various ways by their guardians, some of which include certain messages. Kids are usually told by their parents that the unachievable can be achievable solely by trying hard. And it’s being debated whether giving this message to children has pros that outweigh its cons. Personally, I believe it’s considerably detrimental to one’s growth if one grew up believing in such claims. On one hand, it’s essential for youngsters to learn the value of trying hard. For the results are rarely ever detrimental. Take school work, for example, a below-average child who isn’t taught to try hard will have abilities with high limitations, due to their ignorance. Furthermore, they’re prone to giving up and they will simply never work hard enough to earn anything. Thus, it is crucial for parents to teach their offspring the importance of trying hard. However, this can also implant false hopes in our children’s minds. To elaborate, there are matters that simply can’t be obtained through hard work alone. For instance, to be an NBA player, one would need great genetic advantages. Examples are height, muscle mass, bone density, etc. Moreover, for an individual with short stature, practising more would be in vain. Therefore, a child who believed that anything could be obtained by trying hard would fall into great despair once they encountered such situations. To conclude, from my point of view, I think our offspring learning how important trying relentlessly is greatly beneficial due to how many matters in life can be overcome through trying hard. However, there are barriers that prevent us from achieving great things. As a consequence, I also believe that the message would drag them down in certain circumstances, which everyone faces eventually in life.