In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, more workers are beginning to work online thanks to the rise in the use of electronic devices, while in the past, most personnel used to travel to their workplace. The number of hours saved by workers due to the lack of commutes is one of the major benefits that this situation has, while the decrease in productivity caused by online workers is one of the major drawbacks. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and online work has arrived to stay. Beginning with the benefits, it is well known that people spend from 1 to 2 hours in their commutes every day, giving as a result, a total of around 7 hours per week, that may be saved. For example, if people gain this time, they may invest it in their own self-being doing exercise, cooking healthy foods, or doing household duties. This is a valuable time and it could be crucial for families with children that do not have enough time to balance work and family. Looking at the drawbacks, there are issues that are best dealt with in person. In addition, certain tasks are best performed in person and companies prefer to have their workers in their work within the office better than at home. For example, if personnel are working from home, there is less control over them, resulting in a lack of production. Moreover, as I aforementioned, if there is an issue and no one is in the office, the company is decreasing its productivity due to the lack of onsite employees. Furthermore, communicating through the internet is not always the best way to work, and if a connection problem occurs, until it is not fixed, production falls for hours. To conclude, while the drawbacks of online work are numerous and may cause a decrease in productivity due to connection problems, issues in the offices or lazy behaviours by workers, I believe that the time saved by employees in their commutes would be beneficial for them, and it may be designated to self-being activities in order to improve the balance between work and family.