In some countries, some criminal trials are shown on the television and the general public can watch them. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Never has the topic of crime failed to attract public attention. However, when it comes to whether there are more merits or demerits of showing criminal trials on TV, people hold divergent views. From my perspective, even though it will exert some negative effects, I still believe that the benefits exceed the drawbacks. First and foremost, criminal proceedings on TV can have deterrent effects on potential convicts. Some lawbreakers who have committed felonies will receive lengthy prison terms. With such cases broadcasted on TV, citizens with evil intentions or on the verge of committing crimes would be deterred from doing them, which can nip the crimes in the bud. Furthermore, televising criminal trials can call for a worldwide joint effort to boycott unscrupulous media. Some malicious media fabricates fraudulent information to attract the public’s attention or to make a profit. Many regular people are devoid of the capability to distinguish the authenticity of the information, making them vulnerable to some inflammatory statements. The TV trials can therefore act as an early intervention against the unethical behaviour of mass media. In the meantime, there are definitely some shortcomings in airing criminal trials on TV. For example, it can encourage the same culprits to recommit crimes in the future. When those offenders finish their sentences, they are likely to be labelled as ex-prisoners by others, as there are video recordings of their trials shown on TV; moreover, the crowd could therefore recognize them easily. In this case, they are liable to be confronted with social ostracism and have the predisposition to be underrated, underappreciated, and underprivileged. These may prevent them from becoming normal and productive members of society, thereby taking revenge on society to express their resentment and dissatisfaction again. Nevertheless, this phenomenon is not common at all, and the government has introduced several relevant policies to guarantee their daily lives. The majority of ex-offenders could find a job as long as they strive for it. In conclusion, although it has some drawbacks, I am still convinced that featuring criminal procedures on TV could have a more positive impact on the whole of society.