Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Regarding the growth in technology, the number of kids who have access to these technological sources is increasing rapidly, as a great number of them tend to spend most of their daily time on their virtual lives. From my perspective, this statement is the result of upgraded technological devices that the companies are providing for individuals. Although I find this statement to be an extremely negative development for various reasons. With a comparison between the way of communication by the last generations and nowadays, virtual communication is becoming more and more popular every day, as people tend to show more interest in this way of talking to others and this made the path for these technology companies to provide and upgrade their devices. As a result, most children are showing more interest in using them than before. Nowadays, a great number of kids own their own smartphones and mostly are using them to communicate with their friends through them which causes them to waste a significantly greater amount of their time to be involved in their friend's community and not be left behind. Smartphones are now an inseparable part of adolescents' lives. These devices, moreover, consist of some interesting features such as the capability of watching movies, playing video games, and reading e-books which seem mesmerising to many youngsters and grab their attention to spend hours on their phones. In my opinion, this statement has various drawbacks. Firstly, it is extremely time -consuming as children may find themselves scrolling through social media for many hours without any reason which will take their time that has to be spent outside of the house playing with their friends and doing homework. On the contrary, the blue light of these devices will eventually have a damaging effect on their brain and their ability to think properly, as well as their ability to solve problems and deal with difficulties. This statement, furthermore, may lead youngsters to become unsociable and depressed over time. For instance, if a child only speaks to his friends through texting them, he would not be able to express his ideas clearly when it comes to face-to-face communication, which will make him depressed and anxious. To sum up, to me, that is a horrible decision to let the kids use their phones as much as they want to since this will bring a variety of unforgettable damages while they are growing up, as this is the time when their brains are forming and can have huge drawbacks to their future.