Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries. But increased life expectancy has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

According to research, the average age of humans raises in many countries. This phenomenon causes two main effects. To begin with, if people are able to live longer, the world will level up to the upper level. When humans keep acquiring and accumulating new knowledge for a long period, they can invent or find out stuff which is impossible for previous generations to create. Take, mid-aged adults, for example. Those who are aged from 35 to 65 are likely to achieve marvellous successes during their golden age before retirement. If they are able to live longer and post postpone retirement, they can do more than current achievements. Consequently,when people increase life expectance, they will help the society move to the next level. In terms of the negative impact, this situation will result in serious damage to the earth. While the elderly live for such a long period, newborn babies still keep coming into the world. Meanwhile, this will make the world overpopulation. For instance,recently,there is the trend of overpopulation, so people demolish forests in order to erect new buildings and develop agriculture. However, this move affects biodiversity a lot and might lead to the end of the world. In conclusion, if people live longer, overpopulation is the serious issue which gives rise to the earth unable to burden our development. To summarize,under the circumstance of the longer length of human age, there are one positive influence and one negative impact. The positive influence is that the world will up to the upper level due to the accumulation of knowledge. Nevertheless,the negative influence is that the earth is not capable to burden overpopulation and the environment is destroyed by humans.