Q. Giving lectures in auditoriums to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching. With the technology available today there is no justification for it, and everything should be done online. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

It is true that current generations are obliged to participate in not only formal classes but also extra ones. On the one hand, the proponents of said opinion have their rational grounds. First, this measure would endow useful and versatile individuals in society. Particularly, increased study time allows students to be able to learn more subjects, and they would have more skills in more majors, which is very important to society’s development. In fact, to be able to handle the problems of accounting software, society will need individuals who study both programming and economics. Second, excellent civilians are able to receive a significant number of vocation chances when graduating. Particularly, students would graduate with excellent degrees which endow a competitive advantage for undergraduates when they face employers in the upcoming years. If one day this measure ceases to exist, students have to join an intense competition to seek an excellent job. On the other hand, the above arguments are insufficient to overshadow the shortcoming of the topic in question. The most pertinent reason is that learning excessively has detrimental impacts on the mental and physical well-being of pupils. Specifically, because students have to join extra classes after school, they lack respite. Worse still, learning too much in a long time forces them to deplete relaxation time. In addition, said practice prevents children from developing social relationships because of a lack of time. Particularly, studying could occupy all their leisure time, which should have been allocated to communication with friends. In reality, they are able to become lonely and reclusive adults, and lack interpersonal skills, one of which is public speaking. In conclusion, it is indisputable that this policy allows learners to become versatile and own wonderful vocations. Nevertheless, the health of students and lacking soft skills are the matters which render this practice no longer an optimal decision.