Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that a country should try to avoid importing its food but instead produce sufficiently to support its population. There are several factors that dictate whether a particular food product can be produced domestically or imported. In my opinion, if the factors are in favour of producing internally in one's own country then that should be opted for. A group of people prefer to produce crops in their own country instead of buying from other nations. The primary reason for this is to be self-sufficient. No country prefers to be at the goodwill of another. While importing an essential commodity from another country, we may fall prey to unfavourable trade rules. For example, Singapore realised that it was heavily dependent on Malaysia for its water supply, the most basic commodity for human survival. There were several instances in history where Malaysia threatened to restrict the water supply. In order to become self-reliant Singapore devised a system to recycle its wastewater and is now able to produce ninety per cent of its water requirement. Another group of people are willing to import food where necessary. This is particularly true for countries with harsh weather which might not favour the growth of most crops. Another reason can be the non-availability of land area for producing the food items. In these situations trying to in-house production can prove to be more expensive and unsustainable. Hence in the light of such limiting factors, the countries may prefer to import goods at a cheaper price from neighbouring countries. For instance, some countries in Asia, with a shortage of land-area to harvest rice, import it from Thailand at an affordable price. To conclude, importing comes with challenges of volatile supply subject to the importing country's discretion. For this reason, if the land area and weather conditions support the production of food then producing domestically is the preferred choice for any nation. In the event that producing is not viable, the country may resort to importing.