News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, news media, which can provide visual information alongside written commentary or live correspondence, oftentimes present pictures or video stills to viewers and newspaper readers. Some people hold that pictorial information serves better the purpose of keeping public opinion updated, while others consider proper wording as an indispensable and foolproof tool in every journalist's arsenal, be it for precision or accuracy. This essay will address the issue by taking a balanced approach. Admittedly, a depiction of an event confers myriad details which otherwise could not be described even by the most skilled article authors or commentators. This is because time and again words have a limit in expressing more complex situations. In addition, not all people might be able to entirely comprehend the exact facts given in a literary manner. For example, sports events surely cannot be illustrated in accuracy by a speaker or a magazine journalist. The same applies to instances of news which have to do with accidents or demonstrations. But could photographs alone give the whole truth, even though they are technically advanced? It is indisputable that, for news reporters and journalists in general, words constitute the main tool of their job. From the beginning of modern,journalism most employees of newsagents rely on written articles and recorded interviews in order to convey data to the public. To illustrate this, explanations given in journals and newspapers via articles cannot be substituted for pictures. Furthermore, people prefer words to pictures when controversial facts come to the forefront of public awareness. For instance, when a demonstration of a workers union takes place there is always a need for multifaceted views not only the one side involved. Visuals, therefore, alone could easily be manipulated according to the political interests of one party. In short, words are a more reliable source of news. To sum up, today the usage of pictorial information prevails as a trend for informing the public. However, there are serious implications to this and definitely the main downside of not conferring precision and accuracy the way only words can. In my opinion, though there must be a balance between visual and written material in maybe a coordinated complementary fashion.