In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In multiple countries, some folks argue that it is required to spend more money on building new railroads for fast trains while others believe that money should be invested in improving existing public transport. This essay will discuss both aspects and my personal perspective is that current transport issues should be sorted out prior to creating new railways. Firstly, introducing new fast-moving railway systems to a country could be beneficial to the public as it leads to saving time. Nowadays, people spend more time travelling to and from work every day. For example, Sri Lanka which uses old trains and railways takes considerably more hours to travel between cities. As a result, travellers lose valuable time that they can be utilized for work or for families. Modern faster locomotives and tracks could solve this issue to a significant level. Secondly, most modern locomotives operate via electricity and magnetic-based energy, which reduces fuel consumption. Fuel-based trains are comparatively less efficient and they pollute the air quality. This would be sorted with the arrival of modern trains. However, the cost is sky-high to bring up a new railway. Instead, if that money can be invested in current public transportation, it would be more beneficial. One reason for that is the number of people who use other public transport is higher; so that more will get advantages. For an instance, a train can transport passengers only between long distant cities. But buses can travel for short distances. So that those short distance travellers could get advantages if the roads and busses can be improved. Also, traffic could be reduced by improving existing public transport. For example, many people use their personal vehicles to travel in Sri Lanka, as the current public transport methods are unsatisfying. As a result, traffic has increased dramatically in rush hours. If the government can improve current issues, they can solve traffic issues which indirectly benefits saving fuel and capital. To conclude, it is clear that both aspects of introducing new locomotives and improving current transportation can bring more advantages. While improving existing systems could have extra benefits for society.