Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?

In recent years, the growth of technology adoption rose exponentially, hence daily needs fulfilment became way more convenient. However, for the old generation, it took more effort to utilize the mobile-phones or the Internet. I personally believe that the elderly in particular can benefit more in terms of information, though several proofs should be addressed to them carefully. There are two major benefits which can be obtained by old people. Firstly, technology can convey long-distance communication through the Internet. By sending photos or videos, the elderly can share the moments with their distant family, such as a brother, son, or even granddaughter. Making phone calls regularly can keep the disease away due to psychological loneliness. Furthermore, the Internet provides a bunch of information they can consume. There are a lot of choices, starting from news, tutorial, jokes or even political news. Keep staying with the information can maintain brain function of them, hence the memory can good as new. However, the complicated way to run the applications somehow restricts the elderly to extract benefits from them. Then, the benefit of using the mobile phone should be well informed by the younger generation. A simple tutorial will help the elderly cope with the gadget, as long as it fulfils their needs for communication and information. Equally important is to show how convenient if we can use technology properly. So, it means we should mention the benefits will outweigh the drawbacks. All in all, the elderly who adapt to technology will be ended up with numerous benefits, though it is important for the younger generation to provide several proofs of how technology can help the old ones.