Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam’’ How true do you think this statement is? What are measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the contemporary world, more private cars can be seen on the roads as compared to the last thirty years. As a result, we are seeing high traffic jams in most of the cities throughout the world. I completely agree with this statement. Therefore, I would assert that the government should take some steps to cope with this situation by encouraging people to do more carpooling and using public transport most often as well as by restricting the number of cars by a family. To commence, there are various solutions that the government can take to resolve this issue worldwide. Firstly, carpooling, that not only saves petrol or diesel expenses on the cars but also reduces big traffic jams on the roads. Providing rides to co-workers or schoolmates up to the specific points, can be a beneficial measure to deal with higher roadblocks on the roads. Consequently, this will mitigate pollution along with congestion on the streets and people will reach at their destinations in less time than usual. Furthermore, using public transportation, which is quite cheap, can be another step to deal with this situation. The government should encourage people to take more public transport to travel to the nearest places. This can be done, if there are less fares or no fares, to travel in public buses or trains. Thus, people will use these facilities more in order to save their money which ends up with less private cars on the roads. In conclusion, private vehicles on the roads cause major traffic congestion on the road these days since every member of the family has their own car as compared to the current situation on the roads in the last thirty years. Therefore, the government should take steps such as enhancing carpool strategy and providing better public transportation facilities to the locals.