It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people consider that talent is something given to people by nature, whilst others believe that any ability can be gained through hard work. In this essay I will explain why I think that combination of these two factors can be the key to success. It is widely known that all people are born different. Some have an excellent sense of rhythm, others have an unbelievably flexible body. It becomes obvious when we observe a group of newbies, who start doing something they have never done before. Being a teacher, I always see different abilities people have even at the first class and usually can predict how fast and well they will improve in the subject. Sometimes it seems unfair, but we all need different amounts of effort to get to the same point. The good news is that all of us have some kind of “God’s gift” and we just need to find it. On the other hand, relying only on talent and neglecting hard work will not bring great results. They say: practice makes perfect, and it is true for everyone, who wants to achieve something in a chosen field. For instance, if sportsmen do not train every day - they lose their physical form, no matter how naturally talented they are. The same applies to musicians: pianists, who do not improve their technique daily, lose their skill very soon. In conclusion, I am absolutely sure that only a combination of these two factors - natural ability and hard work - can bring a favorable outcome. Talent without practice will fade quickly, however consistent training without any abilities probably will not be very successful either.