Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinationals are generally harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is undeniable that the actions of international organisations can directly impact the host countries positively and negatively. In this regard, some individuals think that the economy of developing countries can be enhanced by their investments. However, others argue that their activities are harmful in some aspects of those countries. In my opinion, although the overall economy can be developed, their actions can affect those developing countries in negative ways so the local authorities should regulate their actions to a certain extent. To begin with, the investment of multinational corporations in developing countries can offer positive impacts on both individuals and a nation as a whole. Since they establish factories and industries, they require a workforce, thereby several job opportunities can be provided for local people. From the governmental side, income tax and business tax can be expected. As a result, this transition can escalate the overall economy of a nation. On the other hand, some organisations often exploit the weakness of those developing countries and tend to do harmful activities, such as nuclear power development by offering a huge amount of money. Those activities are detrimental to environment severely, which can lead to environmental pollution. As a consequence, it can even threaten the health of local people. Therefore, some people are against international investment. To sum up, it can be reiterated that investment in international corporations can offer both advantages and disadvantages for the host society. Therefore, the government should limit its actions and consider their consequences to protect the well-being of citizens.