To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

In recent decades the number of people living on the Earth has grown markedly. This prompts authorities to seek alternative resources of food and one of the possible solutions is breeding edible insects. However,they might be detrimental to one's health and, in addition, their harvesting might have a negative impact on the environment. I am inclined to agree with the second statement as firstly, they do not include all the necessary amino acids and, secondly, this type of farming might destroy the natural balance. Replacing traditional food sources with ants and beetles might help to mitigate the growing threat of famine in the world. Moreover, from an economical perspective, it is a very unassuming business. Additionally, some creatures are a high source of protein and some companies have already started to produce pasta, bars and other types of goods from them. For example, one small Ukrainian factory is offering protein snacks, which have been made from insects. Despite the fact, insects include much protein, there is a lack of necessary types of amino acids in them. On top of that, not everyone can digest such meals. Consequently, it might result in health problems for these people.It is worth noting that insect farms can harm environmental balance and, subsequently, make some species disappear. For example, in one Ukrainian,village there was an insect farm and five years since it was created the variety of wild insects in that area dropped significantly. To sum up all of the above, although insects might be a good alternative food source, from my point of view, the long-standing negative consequences of breeding these creatures are detrimental to nature and, also, it is not acceptable for everyone's organism.