News stories on TV and newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that pictures are far more influential than spoken or written words, especially, pictures on news stories on media or printed news. I completely agree with this opinion as I believe that images can be recognized more easily and they can affect people's emotions deeply. On the one hand, visual sources can be understandable for a wider range of individuals due to two dominant reasons. Firstly, in terms of psychology, the mind can scan, realize, and remember photos immediately while understanding texts sometimes can be difficult. For example, all of us know that teachers try to teach information by using pictures or even diagrams to be able to convey concepts accurately in an attractive way. Thus, news with images not only stimulates people's curiosity but also would be more comprehensive for illiterate folks. Secondly, our visual memory has outperformed other aspects of the brain as when we see a picture, it can be evoked quickly and vividly whereas, speaking and writing remain in our memory for a short time. For instance, when it comes to talking about earthquakes, photos related to citizens in Kermanshah who end up with this overwhelming phenomenon appear in my head. Thus, visual news can provoke our feelings and impress us emotionally. On the other hand, the news which is read or listened to wouldn't impact readers and listeners as long as those which can be seen. One of the main disadvantages of typed news on magazines and newspapers is that most of them aren't elaborated to be able to be visualized in our mind. It is human nature to imagine something to interpret and recognize it. Also, many people don't pay attention to written news and skip them unless they come across an attractive photo. As a result, news should be accompanied by pictures to attract more audience and be effective. In conclusion, in my opinion, every news should involve pictures to stick in mind and appeal to listen and read.