The range and quality of food we can buy has changed due to technological and scientific advances. Some people believe the range and quality of food has improved while others consider it may be harmful. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

Technological development has profoundly infiltrated our lives. Food is a sector tied closely to the practice of genetic engineering that enhances manufacturing and quality. While the question of whether the advantages of technology outweigh the drawbacks remains controversial, this essay calls for public awareness and argues that both sides are equally significant. There are undoubtedly various kinds of food presented to customers nowadays. Many of them are the result of mass production and intensive farming. And It is definitely an improvement in life as people have more nutritious choices. For instance, supermarkets now have more exotic fruits which have unique micronutrients compared to the local ones. Another beneficial part that people tend to see in modern food is its quality assurance. Since all of the food has been carefully processed, there is no need for any concerns about infectious diseases. People can thus comfortably choose different food. Nevertheless, some are still aware of the costs of technological progress in foods both economically and healthfully. The industry which controls what we eat has become so substantially big, that small business owners are losing the price competition to the corporate giants. In this way, a monopoly of food is established in our society, everything will be subject to price manipulation. Hence, the public has to pay for overpriced groceries that they can spend the money on elsewhere. In addition, mass production also brings the problem of genetic engineering of staples and meat. Big companies consistently prefer the use of genetically modified organisms in order to boost yield. That is worrisome for the public because studies have supported that GMOs can cause organ harm. In conclusion, although technologies have provided people with food security along with hygiene, some of the development can also damage our economies and individual health. Therefore, people should acknowledge that technology is a double-edged sword in terms of its impact on food.