‘Prisons are an expensive way of making bad people worse’ To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is this saying that prisoning people is not cheap and only makes them worse. Some folks will agree, and others will disagree with this statement, fortunately, I disagree with this opinion. First, in my opinion, prison acts as a redeeming place for the prisoners, because they will relearn society-acceptable behaviour before coming back to society. Furthermore, without prison, folk who did a bad deed will not get a consequence for their wrongdoing and also do not have a place to counsel them into a better self. For example, in American prisons many inmates are relearning religion so they can connect to better perspectives and understanding, without getting locked up, they will not have this kind of exposure and continue what they have done before. Second, without prison, the public will have more bravery to do bad deeds, and they will not get scared about doing criminal activities because no huge consequence will befall them. Moreover, with how many people live in the world nowadays, it becomes so hard for the government to take into account people one by one. For example, the government will get difficulty observing them from far away, which also generates another expensive expenditure cost to pay the observer's living wage. In conclusion, I disagree that prison is expensive because without prison the cost to observe and make criminals accountable for their wrongdoing will be a lot more expensive. Additionally, in prison, observing, counselling and preparing them to come back into society will be a lot easier to do.