More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. What are the most serious problems associated with obesity and what solutions can you suggest?

The recent decades have seen a rise in the number of children suffering from obesity in many developed countries. Since this trend triggers some serious problems, such as health issues and drastic economic impacts, the joint effort of both the government and the public is required to address this situation as effectively as possible. Admittedly, due to advancements in technology our lifestyle has become far more sedentary and inactive, which has led the world's population to become more overweight than ever before. This physical situation brings about some health risks, namely diabetes and cardiac disease, For instance, a recent study at Harley University discovered that more than 60% of overweight American teenagers are suffering from type 2 diabetes, simultaneously. Furthermore, these types of illnesses impose serious economic burdens on both families and governments. In other words, great sums of money should be spent on curing these patients either in hospitals or on medicines. In consequence, some practical measures should be taken in order to control children's obesity rate. First and foremost, governments can provide better recreation facilities in order to encourage children to participate in outdoor activities, such as basketball and swimming, rather than sitting in front of a screen for many hours in succession. Moreover, implementing a public awareness campaign is another effective strategy to combat obesity. Although raising awareness of the public to this matter is extremely demanding and time-consuming, the results are incredible. As a tangible example, England's Change4Life initiative educates families on healthy diets, promoting behaviours like consuming more fruit and vegetables instead of sugary products, which has gradually influenced the young citizen's eating habits and their health issues. To summarize, obesity is one of the leading problems in many wealthy countries that has posed serious threats to children's health as well as economic conditions. Therefore, providing better social amenities together with a well-rounded education on a balanced diet, can be effective in controlling younger generations' weight problems.