Some people say that drug companies have the responsibility to spend money on researching medicine to help the poorer countries, while others think the main responsibility of drug companies is to make money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been unprecedented research for medicine carried out by drug companies. Some people think that drug companies should focus on revenue while others argue that spending money on research is essential. I will discuss both views and will present my opinion. On the one hand, drug companies should invest money on their research. This is because it will only be possible for a firm to deliver medicines of outstanding quality if they spend money on hiring qualified researchers and infrastructure. For instance, an educated researcher will be aware of the amount of chemicals a particular drug constitutes. Furthermore, it is important for a company to purchase specialized equipment. If a company judiciously invests in these areas the poor quality medicines might have a negative impact on people. Citizens will eventually fall ill due to potential side effects of the drug. On the other hand, a pharmaceutical company should generate revenue. First, if they successfully earn more money they will be able to invest in themselves, grow and meet industry standards. To illustrate, if they manage to sell cancer medicines, only then will they be capable of manufacturing medicines for other illnesses. Second, countries economies are of profits of pharmaceutical companies. To elucidate, if a company does not generate revenue, they will not have enough funds to pay the employees. People will eventually suffer from starvation, and this may lead to crime. Hence it is critical for a firm to yield high profits. To conclude, although both for a firm to focus on revenue and for it to focus on investment are equally important, I strongly believe, spending money on research is critical solely for the well-being of consumers.