Some people think foreign visitors should be charged more than local person when they visit the cultural and historical attractions in a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern age, global tourism has been rapidly growing. Some would say that foreigners should pay extra charges if they want to visit historical and cultural attractions in any country. On the other hand, some people argue that local residents should be given fair and equitable treatment. I am of the view that non-locals should pay higher fees in order to reap the benefits of the country’s economy. To benign with, let us start with the natives first. They should be given discount rates when visiting their home country. This is because it will inspire them to gain more insights into their history. Additionally, this measure would also encourage local citizens to take pride in the unique features of their wonderful cultures. This would help promote the tourist spots as well as support the local economy. For example, in its recent statistics, the Ministry of Tourism showed a revealing report. The ministry revealed a 65% rise in the percentage of locals who visit the National Art Gallery. This happened after the ministry announced its free entrance for Malaysian citizens earlier this year. In addition to this, the maintenance of cultural and historical sites is equally expensive. As we are fully aware the locals have been contributing by paying various forms of taxes. These fees are used for the upkeep of their national heritages. Be that as it may, the government needs to collect extra funds from foreigners in order to stabilize the country’s economy. For instance, non-nationals have to pay 420 Egyptian pounds for an entry ticket to visit the Pyramid of Giza in Egypt. The income from these entry tickets has duly generated revenue for Egypt. This revenue was in turn spent on tourist infrastructural improvements as stated by the Post Magazine. To sum up, I wish to reiterate that the national heritage of a country should be levied lower fees for locals. By imposing such lower charges it would help in local promotion as well as protect the local and historical sites.