Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative developement?

In the past few years, a tendency for herbal and complementary medicine is seen among people. They prefer to treat the disease themselves rather than visit a doctor. These treatments have always been used however their benefits and complications concern healthcare professionals. Scientists and doctors have tried to figure out the process of diseases and find a cure for them. In reaching this goal, much research on different treatment options has been done. Besides these achievements, herbal medicine is still used by many as an alternative. Although this can be a part of managing an illness, it can never substitute professional approaches. As an example, thyme can be a good anti-cough drug for a simple common cold but it can not be helpful in treating lung cancer. People should take these points into account before deciding to cure their sickness without a doctor's advice. On the other hand, adjusting the dosage of organic medications is a complicated process because the ingredients are not clear enough and the amount can differ. Chemically made drugs, in contrast, have a proportionate and determined content. Another concern is about the side effects. Most of the time people use home treatments without prescriptions or recommendations from either a pharmacist or a doctor, therefore odd reactions which are not dose-dependent can happen. This will cause even more damage to their body and organs. To sum up, pseudo-scientific and homeopathic medicine should be used as a side treatment option. In today's modern world, every scientific field like medicine is based on vast research and documentation thus people must be aware of and trust educated individuals.