Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor-bike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been said that the minimum legal age for driving and riding should be increased so as to improve road safety. Personally, I firmly disagree with this idea for two main reasons. To begin with, in order to improve road safety, we should emphasize people’s driving and riding skills rather than their age. The main reason why there are thousands of traffic accidents is that because the driving tests are too simple, those who do not have standard techniques still qualify for driving licenses. For instance, although some teenagers do not have driving licenses, they drive well on the road. However,some adults are not good at driving which leads to numerous driving accidents. Consequently,there is no doubt that young age is not always the reason why roads are unsafe and driving skills are the most essential part of road security. The second reason is that a proper design of roads is more essential than people’s driving age. When the roads are designed in a strange way, although people follow them properly, they still will cause car accidents. Take, Taiwan, for example. Taiwan is regarded as a “pedestrian hell” by BBC due to the fact that pedestrians have to walk closely with vehicles as the government did not design roads which are suitable for every road user. In conclusion, designing good roads for users is far more important than increasing the minimum age for driving. To summarize, as far as I am concerned, I disagree with the idea of rising the legal age for driving and riding is not useful to improve road security for two major reasons. Firstly,training the public’s driving skills before they get their licenses is more effective to improve road security. Secondly, planning out roads which are suitable for every road user is also a key point to help the improvement of road safety.