People are now surrounded by advertising. This both affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people’s life. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Never have the topics concerning advertisements failed to attract the public’s attention. However, when it comes to whether commercials would affect people ’s thoughts and be detrimental to their life, I partly agree with this view. It can be understood why some people advocate that advertisements sometimes have threats to people ’s life. To begin with, it is true that some people are vulnerable to excessive advertisements as some online advertisements are unintentionally saturated with harmful information such as violent plots or pornography scenarios. Since many netizens, especially the young may have no ability to distinguish right from wrong, they may therefore imitate indiscriminately, which perhaps causes them to go astray or even commit crimes. Apart from this, too much advertisement may steer people to espouse the supremacy of consumerism. It is not rare to see that many individuals are under peer pressure due to the influence of advertisements. Provided that they are not using the new-released products, they may have the predisposition to face social ostracism. This may mislead people to keep buying the products promoted in advertisements and deem their old items as obsolete, causing a throw-away society. However, there are still a variety of benefits brought by advertisements that should not be underestimated. People ’s thoughts can be influenced positively by advertisements as one of the important functions of advertisement is calling for a worldwide joint effort to mitigate some thorny issues such as environmental contamination. Non-profitable advertisement is invested in many countries to raise the public’s awareness of environmental protection and guide the masses to live a carbon-neutral lifestyle, which leads to an environmentally friendly society to a large extent. Additionally, we should also not forget that advertisements can boost the development of tertiary industries in some remote areas. As advertisements can remove geographical barriers, many people can be informed that there are abundant landscape resources, splendid historical heritage and unique local tourist attractions in some geographically isolated or impoverished countries. This would result in an increased income for local dwellers and prosperity of the tourism industry in some undeveloped countries. In conclusion, although people ’s life may be negatively affected by excessive advertisements, I still believe that the positive impacts brought by advertisements should not be overlooked.