In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this.

Buying homes is considered a high expense so many are concerned in finding the past history of their residences. In this essay, I will discuss how people exercise their minds researching their own home and how it could be beneficial in adding more value to the house or in the deciding the suitability of the architectural and neighbourhood influence. Firstly, some residences can be resold back to a higher amount depending on their owner's reputation. For example, if the home was pre-owned by a famous celebrity, the owner can advertise him/her as a positive element of the building which would attract more customers eventually creating competition, increasing the value of the house. These type of information can be obtained by the maps and records available in the municipal council and different bibliographical resources. Secondly, those who believe in superstitions would be interested in knowing the architectural history of their place of living. For example, it is a common belief that if the main door of the house was facing south, it would bring catastrophic events to the tenants whereas, if the main door was facing north, it would bring prosperity and joy to the house owners.The next-door neighbours would be an ideal source of information about such incidents as well as architectural reports. In conclusion, much attention is paid in background checking a home using various methods as it affects a person's quality of living and increases the value of their home. This has increased in home owners to be much vigilant about the past history of their homes when choosing a proper living space.