The number of road traffic accidents, as well as the number of casualties and fatalities they result in, has risen in recent years. What are the main causes of the increase in road traffic accidents? How could the situation be improved? - You should write at least 250 words - You should spend around 40 minutes of this task.

Accidents involving vehicles on the road are a major cause of injuries and death nowadays. In this essay, the main factors leading to the rise in road traffic accidents will be described and some feasible solutions will be put forward to address the problem. First and foremost, the main reason for the increasing amount of traffic collisions is the rising population density in many countries. Simultaneously, the car has become the main method of transportation for many individuals. With an increasing number of people living, working and, most importantly, driving in close proximity to one another, an increase in traffic incidents is inevitable. Moreover, many drivers are not particularly skilled at manoeuvring in congested cities and on freeways but are overconfident in their own ability. As a result, more and more drivers are involved in tragic accidents. This problem could be alleviated in numerous ways. One method would be for municipal authorities to introduce traffic calming measures to ensure that drivers travel at a safe speed. Placing speed bumps in residential areas and near schools, for example, has been statistically proven to reduce the number of accidents. Another effective measure would be to implement regular driving tests, perhaps every ten years, rather than one single driving test. The reasoning behind this would be that drivers would need to continually refresh their skills instead of forgetting all about them after obtaining their driving licence. Drivers could also be regularly tested on their ability to drive in heavy traffic and at high speeds using virtual reality simulators. In conclusion, road traffic incidents can have a devastating impact on victims and their families. Therefore, steps should be taken immediately to halt the increase in vehicle crashes on the roads.