In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem.What are the causes of this and wha actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Nowadays many cities and towns around the world become more populated which produces problems, one of which is a high volume of traffic. There are several ways to solve this obstacle, but it can not be solved instantly, they need a huge amount of front expenditure cost, also involvement and understanding from every layer of society to make it sustainable. First, the obvious cause of traffic jams is the high amounts of vehicles on the road, especially, private-owned transportation. This takes us to another problem about why the city populations favour private vehicles rather than public transportation, which mainly because of the bad transportation system in the city, makes it not accessible to all parts of the city. Furthermore, there is also a case in which transportation becomes a state economical profit and makes the people buy more private vehicles, they promote it with a small-affordable downpayment and low-risk credit. For example, in Indonesia, public transportation is so bad and always on the lower rank of state's priority. Although we already have an MRT in the previous capital city, Jakarta, the government still want to make the private transportation company thrives with an incentive for the people to buy it, even though it is unnecessary and can make the traffic jam worse in the long run. Second, to solve this problem the government have to understand why public transportation is important, even though, the profit to the national market is not that high compared to a private vehicle. They ought to make accessible and vast-reach transportation, by using the already existing transportation to be a feeder and reaching into the smaller roads, opening new routes, and increasing the quantities of public transportation. For example, in Surabaya, even though some universities are near bus stops, the students still have to walk over a km without a proper walking path and shading, which makes it dangerous for the people. In conclusion, there are many problems as the reason for the high volume of traffic jams and it is mainly the government's job to solve the problem by making a proper public transportation system in the cities or towns.