Some people believe that it is important to spend a lot of money on family celebrations. While others think it is a waste of money. Discuss both views. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has long been much contention on whether it is sensible to spend tons of money on family functions like weddings, and birthday parties or if this age-old tradition is just a waste of money. In order to see whether the former notion outdoes the latter, we need to look at both sides of the debate. The most telling argument in favor of spending money on family gatherings lies in the fact that these events are once-in-a-lifetime celebrations and deserve celebration with pomp and show in order to express happiness and warmth. For example, in almost all countries several birthdays can be considered landmarks in one's life like the 16th birthday marks the transition to adulthood and growth in terms of mentality. Needless to say, all the benefits of spending on these moments will memorize their growth or career much more vividly. Notwithstanding the fact that family events deserve celebration on a larger scale, it is not to say that is a sole waste of money. The primary reason stems from the fact that while spending on these events, people might use up their reserves or savings which could have been used in emergencies or even in developing themselves. Besides this, a lot of time, these events waste a lot of food items that could have been used for less privileged sections of society. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the importance of spending on family functions despite the fact it could have been used somewhere, where it was actually required. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that important events require celebration despite the fact they require lot of financial support.