People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In many schools, literature has become an integral part of the syllabus. However, some folks believe that students should not learn this subject because of is time-consuming. From my perspective, I disagree with this idea for many reasons. To begin with, students can learn about national culture through literature. This is useful for them to assimilate knowledge from the substance of novels, and poems that reflect the culture, traditions, and society of a country or a period. It exposes them to diverse cultures and historical periods. As a result, it gives younger people a deep insight into history and culture, which nurtures empathy, changes the perspective, and breaks down stereotypes. Moreover, each literature work reflects historical periods that help learners discover and understand the past. Furthermore, writing fosters critical thinking and analytical skills, which are integral for success in various aspects of life. Through the storyline, schoolboys or schoolgirls can understand the underlying meaning or character experiences by analyzing the text They can increase their ability to express themselves and communicate with other people. This is also essential for youths to develop interpersonal skills. For instance, reading a novel make readers come up with the idea by brainstorming to imagine these ideas. What is more, this subject ignites creativity and a passion for language, which can greatly benefit students personally and professionally. In conclusion, literature plays an important role in high school curricula because it provides a historical and cultural understanding and creates a lot of skills for youngsters to improve their overall well-being.