Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Advertisements for products and services have become ubiquitous in the age of globalisation. Recently, the popular consumer goods which have a high revenue reflect that they are predominantly influenced by the power of advertising and not the actual demands of the public in which they are sold. From my perspective, I totally agree that the higher sales of popular consumer goods, the more powerful strength of commercials are. It’s undeniable that technology has become an essential part of our everyday life. The advancement of technology empowers commercials in various ways such as online advertisements and data analysis. Many hardware and software have been collecting our data for decades to analyze and convince us to comply with their recommendations. For instance, Apple is one of the most successful companies which have implemented online banners according to consumers’ search history resulting in the highest market value in this era. As a result, it ends up buying unexpected and unnecessary items. Even though consumers did not want them, they can not resist the offered lucrative deals which will consequently increase firms’ revenue. Furthermore, citizens’ free will should not be hidden by the power of advertisements. it has been strengthened for decades since the emergence of the internet. According to the collected data, the algorithm will serve as an interesting and enjoyable topic for users. Interestingly, many people approve to share data because they will receive personalized offers on their screens. For instance, research in behavioural economics at the University of Warwick proves that humans can be easily influenced by various factors including customized banners. However, it is a matter of personal preference which might be beneficial for someone but not work for others. To recapitulate, this essay agreed that enormous profits of the businesses reflect the power of advertisements; meanwhile, it might intentionally persuade the community to follow the marketing’s demands instead of people’s free will.