In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study aboard. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, students have wider opportunities to acquire higher education in a foreign country, compared to the past when they could only study in their own country. In my opinion, this is primarily due to increasing economic development. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this situation, which are discussed below. On the one hand, very early in their careers, students have the opportunity to travel abroad and study with a diverse environment of peers. This helps them build an understanding of different cultures and beliefs, thus shaping them into global citizens. In addition, studying at foreign universities helps them to improve their competencies by accessing better quality education, and gives them a far better start to their future career. On the other hand, the globalisation of education has a huge impact on a country's economy, as the best people leave in search of better opportunities. Most developing countries face a major challenge in hiring and nurturing the right talent due to the shortage of skilled people. In other words, this slows down their development plans and also leads to an increased dependence on older generations. To fill this gap, many countries are now encouraging international citizens to migrate to their countries and take up permanent residence. A classic example of this is the US and its policy of attracting talent to Silicon Valley. In conclusion, there will always be individuals who choose to study abroad because of the wide options available there. If governments can create better educational facilities and employment opportunities, the retention percentage of this youth population can be increased.