Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think universities should have the same proportion of men and women in every major.I completely disagree with this idea for serval reasons. One reason why I think universities should not give the same numbers of male and female students is that it's not practical and realistic. Men and women tend to be interested in different subjects. For instance, men are often keener on history, politics and engineering; While women are often more interested in subjects like education, psychology and art. So some courses will have mainly male applicants, while others are more popular with females. So if a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of males and females, it would be difficult to fill courses like nursing as fifty per cent of the places needed to go to males. Another reason I disagreed is that would not be fair. People should be accepted onto courses according to their abilities, and gender should not be relevant in education. If we force a regulation on the equal number of both gender, some people who have higher scores may not be able to gain access to universities, while some people who have lower grades can have the opportunity to continue studying. This is neither good in moral nor economic dimensions. Universities should select the best candidates according to their qualifications. In this way, both men and women have the same opportunities. In conclusion, I have a good reason to believe that having an equal number of men and women in universities in every subject is not a good idea.